Historic. Picturesque. Fascinating.
- 1357: Mentioned in documents for the first time, as a hereditary tenure of the Fraumünster Abbey with an obligation to keep horses for the military, later inhabited by town clerk and judge, goldsmith and tailor
- 1455: First mention as a public house. Over 560 years old, it is the oldest public house in the old town of Zurich
- 1504: Adler hotel developed from the feudal public house, nobility lived in the vicinity
- 1590: Council donates a painted glass window to the Adler - probably as a sign of the close link between the nobility and the government. This meant that it could not be seen from outside how gentlemen conducted themselves while playing at cup and dice in a public house
- 1830: Rudolf Koller spends his childhood in the Hotel Adler. He observes the animals of the waggoners, which are kept in the stables of the Adler. He scribbles his first sketches on the walls of the house and later becomes a famous Swiss animal and landscape painter
- Around1900: Drinking dive with "flophouse" in the attic, a hostel for riff-raff and vagrants
- 1953: Reconstruction of the Adler and creation of the Rosenhof inner courtyard. Mentioned for the first time as a fondue parlour. Over 60 years old, it is the oldest fondue restaurant in the old town of Zurich
- 1959: The owner's family, a lover of the paintings of Rudolf Koller, buys the Hotel Adler
- 1989: The Nietlisbach family acquires the antiquarian bookshop "Zum guten Buch"
- 1997: Conversion. The fondue parlour becomes the Swiss Chuchi restaurant with Swiss specialities. Heinz Blum brings the history of the Zurich old town to all of the 52 hotel rooms and paints the atmospheric Adler courtyard, an imaginary Zurich inner courtyard, on the inner walls over several floors
- 1998: Membership of "Hotels with a Bookmark". Heidi, the hotel cow, moves to the balcony on the 1st floor and becomes a well-loved photo subject.
- 2001: Demet Cekic-Soyalp becomes Vice General Manager
- 2002: Book publication "Zurich viewed from the Adler" - Documentation of 6 old-town walks, illustrated with photos of the murals of Heinz Blum
- 2004: Heinz Blum paints both banks of the Limmat of the old town on the walls of the roofed passage to the Rosenhof
- 2005: Stand-up bar for dogs on the outer wall of the Adler in memory of Rudolf Koller, who painted straying dogs in the Niederdorf
- 2011: Takeover of General Management by Mrs. Demet Cekic-Soyalp
- 2014: Renovation of the hotel rooms